Check your cabinet before that new baby gets here!

It’s great when you are going the natural route for most of your skin care. If you are getting ready to welcome a new baby, then you have probably already thought about how to use natural skin care on baby. But have you thought about cleaning out your cabinets to make sure you use all natural ingredients everywhere?  Most everyone I know receives baby oil before they have their first baby. Baby oil? Yes, you know the kind in the big clear bottle that we all used to tan with when we were growing up (am I dating myself? lol). I don’t think I ever actually used it on my baby. Do you know what would happen if your baby were to find that baby oil and aspirate it? It would quickly coat baby’s lungs and there is no way to get it back out. This could lead to brain damage or even death. Do yourself a favor and throw it out! It’s not necessary for baby!

Household cleaners are another area that is great to tackle before baby gets here. I tend to use just baking soda and vinegar for most of my cleaning needs. They are both safer options than any chemically induced cleaner. I use the baking soda paste to clean tubs and sinks. If my drains get clogged these two are also my first products I go for. As long as they aren’t clogged to the point of lots of water sitting in your sinks or tubs these two items work great. You use a cup of baking soda and put it down the drain. Add a cup of vinegar to the drain and then pull the drain closed (the two interact causing  bubbling and fizzing, closing the drain forces it to go the direction of the clog). After a minute or so flush it out with 4-6 cups of hot boiling water and voila…it’s unclogged!  Doing this is so much kinder on our pipes, our water treatment and our Earth! It’s better for us to cut as much chemicals out of our lives as possible.

Vinegar is also a great window cleaner.  Use 1/3 cup of vinegar, 2 cups of water and a few drops of dish detergent to a spray bottle. Spray on, wipe off. You can wipe off with newspapers (although the way papers are going in this day and age you aren’t as likely to have them lying around. So you can do what I do and use a microfiber towel or a plain old kitchen towel to dry it off.  I also use vinegar to clean my floors. I add a fourth a cup of vinegar (oh, who am I kidding, I add a few splashes) to my mop bucket. If you are worried about the vinegar smell it fades very fast.

Do you have any household cleaner tips you can share with us?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

